terrarium

Inspired by our beautiful new postcards from Quill and Fox, I created a 3-D version using real succulents and air plants.
IMG_7985
Because my husband Jeff is the artist of the family…I had him sketch out the terrarium using the postcard as a guide. I then mixed a few colors together to paint the outline.
IMG_7997
Now comes the fun part. I’m all for projects that require me to visit the local flower market. But if you don’t have a good flower market near by, you can always visit your nearest nursery. When choosing the succulents I made sure to grab ones that had different shapes and textures. Adding air plants and branches gave me the finishing touches my canvas needed.
IMG_8008
The obvious downfall to this project is that you can’t really glue the plants down onto the canvas since they probably won’t last long. You could use silk or plastic flowers as another option but I personally love using live plants.
IMG_8039
Absolutely loved the finish project…and absolutely adore our new Quill and Fox postcards…in stores now.
IMG_8044

Leave a Reply

