vintage cakes

We love following our blog contributor and photographer on Instagram @coreyvillicana…one of my favorite posts are her made from scratch cakes from the cookbook Vintage Cakes by Julie Richardson (found it at Anthropologie). The book itself is so easy to follow, even for a novice cook, great step by step direction and beautiful pictures that make the recipes so hard to resist.

IMG_0424

My favorite desserts are ones with alcohol in them so I thought that the Kentucky Bourbon cake would be a great one to make for my first attempt at a made from scratch cake. A few tips Corey and I discovered is that you don’t need a sifter, an electric mixer, or real buttermilk. Anytime I find tricks that requires less dishes to wash…I’m all for it! Because I didn’t find real buttermilk at the grocery store, I looked up ways I could substitute it, a difficult process since I didn’t even know what real buttermilk tasted like. A source I found called for 1 tablespoon of vinegar and 1 cup of whole milk, it was a risk but it worked!! By mixing the vinegar and milk together, the consistency began to thicken which is what you want. As you get all the ingredients together, you do want to separate the dry ingredients from the wet…combine the 2 sets of ingredients into a bowl and begin mixing them together. Bake it for about 40 minutes and you’ll have a delicious cake ready to serve or decorate.

IMG_0429

IMG_0446

IMG_0455

Decorating doesn’t need to be stressful and doesn’t require much at all. I decided to visit my local Whole Foods and see what was in season to top my cake. I was so lucky and thrilled to find that figs were available and in season. How could I resist the gorgeous colors? Adding a variety of sizes of the figs…whole, halves, and quarters and mini apples from Corey’s garden, the cake couldn’t have turned out more beautiful and more delicious. Hope you enjoy!

IMG_0459

IMG_0468

IMG_0479

IMG_0502

IMG_0520

IMG_0538

Leave a Reply

